Planning >> Air Awareness
NC Air Awareness

Air Awareness

  • The Air Awareness Program is a public outreach and education program of the Division of Air Quality with local air quality programs across the state.

    Learn more here ...

What's the Problem?

  • Why should you care about air pollution? Air pollution can harm everyone's health and damage the environment. Air pollution can lead to breathing problems such as asthma and emphysema.
    Learn more here ...

Air Quality Forecast

  • See the future. Know the air pollution levels the day before they happen. Click below to go to our Air Quality Forecast Center.
    Learn more here ...

Protect Your Health

Take Action!

  • Ozone and particle pollution, the two biggest air quality concerns in North Carolina, come from many of the same sources, primarily motor vehicles and industry.
    Learn more here ...

Teachers & Students

  • Teachers! Let us help you teach a class, add to your Professional Teaching Standards portfolio, and meet all the new core and essesial standards.
    Learn more here ...

FAQ

Turn Off Your Engine

Employer Resources

Additional Information & Links

Rollover your county for local coordinator information.
For all counties in white, please email air.awareness@ncdenr.gov

Asheville Air Awareness, Ashley.Featherstone@buncombecounty.org Western NC Air Awareness, Keith.Bamberger@ncdenr.gov Hickory Air Awareness, John.Wear@wpcog.org Charlotte Air Awareness, KellyC.Smith@MecklenburgCountyNC.gov Triad Air Awareness, Elkinslt@forsyth.cc Triangle Air Awareness, Elaine.Loyack@ncdenr.gov Fayetteville Air Awareness, Jen.McHone@ncdenr.gov NC Air Awareness, air.awareness@ncdenr.gov NC Air Awareness, air.awareness@ncdenr.gov
Asheville Air Awareness Ashley.Featherstone@buncombecounty.org 828-255-5655
Charlotte Air Awareness KellyC.Smith@MecklenburgCountyNC.gov 704-336-5423
Fayetteville Air Awareness Jen.McHone@ncdenr.gov 910-678-7614
Hickory Air Awareness Johnny Wear@wpcog.org 828-485-4248
NC Air Awareness Jonathan Navarro,
Teresa Colon, Air.Awareness@ncdenr.gov
919-707-8494
919-707-8436
Triad Air Awareness Lorelei Elkins, Elkinslt@forsyth.cc 336-703-2449
Triangle Air Awareness Elaine.Loyack@ncdenr.gov 919-707-8703
Western NC Air Awareness Keith.Bamberger@ncdenr.gov 828-296-4500